I’ve got 99 problems. This is one of them.

‘Tis the season…TO EAT EVERYTHING IN SIGHT!

Okay – perhaps an exaggeration.
But for most of us, it’s challenging to keep our hands off the abundant treats that are present this time of year. Whether it’s the cookies that one of your colleagues made and left in the office kitchen, the box of chocolates you received as a gift from one of your clients, or the array of appetizers at the holiday party (which wouldn’t have been so bad – but you went to three holiday parties… three nights in a row…), you are likely eating foods that you wouldn’t typically be indulging in so regularly.

For me – I can’t seem to be able to stop eating baked goods. My favourite cafe bakery (pictured here) is not only a super tasty spot to grab your breakfast or lunch, but now also doubles as a Christmas wonderland. Could this place be any cuter?!

So what’s the solution here: do I avoid walking past this gem of a bakery? Or do I visit this Christmas wonderland, enjoying the decorations and taste-testing the holiday treats?

I’ve decided that a 3:1 ratio is a fair way to gage my intake of nutrient-dense food to treats. So for every 3 healthy meals I eat, I can have a treat. If I can manage to get enough good food in my system I find that I’m not as hungry to be tempted by treats. The more nutrient-dense foods I can eat, the healthier I feel which is ultimately the reason I pay attention to my diet.

What does a nutrient-dense diet look like?

Check out this page for “Aggregate Nutrient Density Index, a scoring system that rates foods on a scale from 1 to 1000 based on nutrient content. ANDI scores are calculated by evaluating an extensive range of micronutrients, including vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals and antioxidant capacities.”

I will conclude by mentioning, regardless of what we’re eating, let’s eat mindfully and be grateful that we have such an abundance.

Happy holidays everyone!

 

 

Leave a comment